Skip to content

Orange you glad I’m posting about more burritos?

February 13, 2013

So when I began this quest to find Dublin’s finest package of Mexican food, in all its glory, I made a list. This list contained all of the burrito bars that I could find in a quick Google search. While I have been told of several other places, that I have not tried, I have finally finished the list today. Which means that after today, I’ll be moving on to the next phase of the competition and narrow down the options of where the best burrito in Dublin could possibly be. But more on that tomorrow.

So today’s trip across Dublin took me to Burrito’s and Orange, on the junction of Jervis Street and Abbey Street. This place has been here for years, I can tell you that, but I’d never tried it before…the outside of the shop always looked just a little bit shabby for it to be somewhere that I’d enjoy.

Also, I’d never heard good things about the place. Honestly, I can tell you that I have been putting off Burritos and Orange since the beginning, because I’d anticipated that it would be a poor and unenjoyable burrito. So there’s nothing to it, but to get down to business.

With a name like Burritos and Orange, I was wondering where in my burrito I would see some orange, because it seemed to obvious a gimmick to ignore. And I saw very quickly that there was some orange zest infused in the rice. A nice touch, maybe they wouldn’t be so bad…

So the rest of my burrito consisted (besides the orange rice) of pinto beans (there was no choice of black or refried beans here), pulled pork, sweetcorn (never had that before), tomato, onion and chilli, lettuce, cheese and sour cream. Of the three salsas that were available, I chose the middle ground in terms of heat, having their so called ‘Mild Burn Salsa’.

Image

It was like being in a Chinese restaurant, eating burritos

I was a bit disappointed with the selection of ingredients available, it seemed a bit bare. Besides these, there was a choice of guacamole, which cost extra, but that’s about it. That said, this is definitely the only burrito restaurant that I’ve been in that’s an actual restaurant – the rest have been burrito bars. It was kind of decorated like a Chinese restaurant though…

So in terms of presentation, this burrito was fine. It was nothing outstanding, but it was wrapped well in tin foil, looked neat, and fit perfectly into the basket that it was provided in. I think that a 3/5 for presentation is perfectly fair.

And so we come to the burrito itself…

  • My first bite was a disappointment in terms of texture; it was soggy and watery, and juice spilled right out of it and all over my hands…It did become less soggy, the more I ate of it, but I’m pretty sure that’s because it had all spilled out the bottom at that stage. That said, the ingredients were well distributed, for the first half of the burrito, but then the meat seemed to stick to one side. It was certainly well wrapped in the tortilla, it’s just a pity that the soginess ruined that… (5/10)
  • I had this burrito for dinner, and it was a good dinner. It’s hours later now (sorry, I was on the radio, so I didn’t write this up earlier!), and I’m still full. There’s not many a burrito that I can say that about. It was fat and round when I got it, and it didn’t compress too much as I ate it. Their €6 student deal (including a drink) is definitely good value (8/10)
  • There’s not much to say about the meat – the pork was succulent and quite tasty, but very salty. I’m not sure if it was the salt, or the way it was stored, but the pork was quite dry, which is a pity, because it could have been so much more (6/10)
  • The salsa could also have been so much more, if it was just a bit more flavourful. All that I could taste from the salsa was heat – it was a mild, but long lasting heat, but that’s all that it consisted of. It was a bit disappointing, because the salsa looked so tasty in the jars that they were using. (5/10)
  • OK, the orange rice was beautiful. It was sweet, but not too sweet. Just sweet enough to be noticeable, and it added a really nice flavour to the burrito. Definitely different. The vegetables in the burrito were fine, they were fresh and crunchy, but not too cold, which was nice. I thought that the cheese would have been better, had it been melted (if only the burrito had been toasted!), but that’s not much of a complaint. The sour cream was a but liquidy, more like mayonnaise than cream… (8/10)

I was not looking forward to this burrito, and lo and behold, it has turned around and impressed me. I was not expecting this, I have to say. It scored a solid 32/50, about average from what I’ve had so far. Not the greatest burrito in Dublin, but a longshot, but certainly it was unexpectedly tasty!

So tomorrow, I will be making my own burritos (or at least, my Mum will be making burritos!), because it is my brother’s birthday, and his choice of dinner was Mexican food. Since I shall not be reviewing them (it wouldn’t be fair to the rest of the burritos in Dublin, would it?), I’ll let you know tomorrow evening about the future of this challenge.

I’ve got big plans for the next few weeks…

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

