Skip to content

Tiny Donkeys day again

March 13, 2013

It’s Wednesday again, which (as we all know) means that the Tiny Donkeys is back on. It was good to have most of the usual crowd in the studio tonight – lacking the young Mr Tapley, but sometimes, college work has to come first.

This means that it’s also burrito day, although I mixed things up a bit – I had a lunchtime burrito, and had my sandwich for dinner. Shocking, I know!

Image

Reuben and Craw partaking in the traditional pre-burrito toast to each other

That said, I did sit in the burrito bar of choice while Craw and Reuben partook in their wrapped bundles of magnificence. They went to the same place that I dined at for lunch, the same place that I got dinner from for my last review – Tolteca on Suffolk Street. What can I say, I was in the mood for a trip there, as were several of my friends (Paraic, most of all).

I’ve not been to Tolteca during it’s busy lunch hour before, so I can’t be sure if it’s normally that busy, or if their widely publicised free burritos last week have done them a world of good, in terms of attracting customers. What I can say, however, is that the group of us (six in total, at first, followed by another shortly after that) got to Tolteca just in the nick of time. We were at the front of the queue as it built up, and we just managed to grab a couple of tables to seat us all.

I sincerely hope that Tolteca remains as busy as it was for lunch today – they have a good location, and one of the largest areas to seat customers. The only correction that I’d make to the layout would be to have more tables and chairs, so that more people can sit down.

Since my last burrito in Tolteca, I’ve been in correspondence with them via Twitter. In that time, I’ve been challenged to eat three burritos in Tolteca, in one sitting. If I manage to do this, Tolteca have promised to reimburse me for my burritos through food vouchers for their stores. I have to say that I’m very, very tempted to take them up on this challenge – although it is suddenly becoming a lot like Man Vs. Food… And as we all know, food always wins in the end…

Image

Food always wins in the battle of Man Vs. Food

If I am to do this, I’m likely to try it next week, and I will (of course) post the video/photographs here for the world to mock me!

Anyhow, I should get back to my burrito. Today’s burrito consisted of white rice, stir fried vegetables, black beans, chicken, pico de gallo, cheese, sour cream and lettuce. The salsa I went for was, once again, the lightning chipotle salsa.

  • My first bite of the burrito was actually quite disappointing. The tortilla was quite tough and difficult to bite through (although this improved after the first three or four bites). There was a great crunch from the vegetables, which is something I quite enjoy. I found this particular burrito quite dry (a first, I know!), which accounts for the fact that it was not even slightly messy, as well as the fact that it held together very well, right up until the last bite. The distribution of ingredients, as it was last week, was very good indeed. (7/10)
  • This was a good sized burrito, filled up well with ingredients. The portions seemed a little bit small (for the rice and meat, anyway), but I was still satisfyingly full afterwards. For €5, I was happy with the level of full-ness that I got for my money, and this is a very good sized lunch – possibly too much though. I was more full this time than I was the last time I ate in Tolteca. (9/10)
  • The chicken in this burrito, if I’m perfectly honest, was pretty average. It was cooked well – it had a nice char-grilled flavour off it, that wasn’t too overpowering, and it was cut into good sized chunks. It was, however, very chewy and fatty, and quite dry. I was disappointed with this, considering how good the pork was last week. (5/10)
  • The salsa was also a bit disappointing, this time around. It was not nearly as hot or as well flavoured as it was last week – it was just noticeable in the burrito. And that’s not to say that I had more sour cream this time around, because I had the same amount – I was just expecting something a good deal better. Perhaps it was not their best effort… (6/10)
  • The other ingredients seemed to be fine, but not as good as last week’s. The rice was a bit dry and lumpy, and there could have been more cheese. The beans were slightly overcooked, although they were still incredibly tasty. I was very happy with the vegetables, which were fantastic, as usual. The lettuce was also perfectly good. I quite liked the pico de gallo that Tolteca offer, and I would recommend it to anybody. (7/10)
Image

Just after my first bite. You can see just how good the distribution was

I feel like I complained about that burrito quite a bit, which does not do Tolteca justice. This was a tasty burrito, and I enjoyed eating it, I just thought that it lacked the pzazz that was offered last week. That said, they were busy today, and that must account for something. Still, a score of 34/50 is not bad at all!

I have also been asked to mention, in terms of the atmosphere in Tolteca, that Paraic was very happy to sit there and eat. He was happy because, mid-burrito, Queens of the Stone Age began playing in the store. So if anybody from Tolteca happens to be reading this, keep the good music playing!

  • Consistency and Texture: 7/10
  • Size: 9/10
  • Meat: 5/10
  • Salsa: 6/10
  • Rice and Other Ingredients: 7/10
  • Total: 34/50
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

