Skip to content

The beginning of the weekend

March 23, 2013

Yesterday evening I was due in work at 7pm, and really fancied a burrito beforehand. So I decided to go into town a little bit early, and grab myself a tasty one – I needed to enjoy it before the nine hour shift that I had ahead of me! So, since I wanted to be guaranteed to enjoy my burrito, I decided that Little Ass Burrito Bar was the place to go.

LAB recently started their delivery service, and, while the burrito bar wasn’t particularly busy, the cashier was busy on the phone with customers who were availing of this service. It’s good to see that people can get a burrito without leaving their house! If I lived within the delivery radius, I’d definitely make use of the delivery service quite often.

ImageBut anyway, I should get to my experience with LAB. As usual, the staff there were delightful. The cashier was clearly busy taking orders on the phone, but she stopped talking on the phone just to apologise and ask me to wait a minute, and was as friendly and as cheerful as I’ve come to expect from LAB.

Being a student, I went for the student deal, which is €5.50 for one of several burritos. Adding the cost of the can of coke that I had with the burrito, I spend €7 on my burrito – the Pukka Poya. This particular burrito contains lime rice, chicken, pinto beans, jack cheese, sour cream and coriander. The salsa that I went for is the mango salsa, the number three salsa on the LAB menu. I also added some fresh jalapeños and crushed up nacho chips to my burrito, which are free of charge on the LAB menu.

I’ll get straight to business, and rate my burrito experience:

  • The first bite of my burrito was fantastic, in terms of texture – there was a bit of everything in there. It was soft and moist, but not messy, with a solid crunch from the tortilla chips. While the first bite wasn’t messy, it did get slightly sloppy as I ate it – nothing too bad, but worth noting. This was a well-wrapped burrito, too; it didn’t fall apart, right down to the very last bite. The distribution of ingredients was fantastic, for the most part – the last few bites weren’t great, and consisted mostly of rice. (8/10)
  • The first thing I noticed about this burrito is that it was a large, round burrito. As I ate it, I couldn’t help but take note of the very generous helpings of all the ingredients in it – especially meat. It was a filling dinner too – my hunger was perfectly satisfied before work, and I’d been quite hungry going in for my burrito. (9/10)
  • As far as the meat is concerned, it was good, for the most part. There were some decent chunks, cut to the perfect size, and it was clearly some good quality chicken. The marinade that LAB use is something special, it really brings the burrito to life, adding another layer of flavour to it. That said, there were pieces of chicken that were quite overcooked – it was tough and charred in places. (8/10)
  • I picked the mango salsa because it is probably my favourite salsa in any burrito bar, so LAB had a lot of expectations to fill with this. But they did not fail to maintain my expectations! The salsa was quite hot – bearably so, but hotter than I’d expected for a middle-range salsa. The reason that I like this salsa, however, is because of the brilliant fruity flavour from the mangos in it – it somehow counters the heat of the salsa, without making the burrito too sweet to enjoy. This salsa is perfect for somebody who enjoys a good kick of heat from their food, but with a notable flavour from it, too. (9/10)
  • For the first time in any burrito bar, I think I had the perfect rice in my burrito. It had a great flavour off of it (as usual for LAB), but was also sticky (but not too moist or too dry – it was just right). I was afraid that there would be too much coriander in the burrito – it has happened before in LAB – but this fear was unfounded; there was just the right amount. The pinto beans were a bit disappointing – they were undercooked, and quite hard and tough. The jalapeño peppers were very tasty – clearly fresh and they added a nice bit of heat to the burrito. The nacho chips are something nice in a burrito – I’d never tried that before, and I really enjoyed that addition. As far as the cheese is concerned, there was probably enough of it, but the burrito could have done with more toasting, to melt it better. (8/10)

ImageSo you’ll see now, adding that up, that LAB have got something good going on – they are very consistent in their burrito scores. Another very impressive 42/50 – just one point off the top spot that Café Azteca still holds. Nonetheless, this was a very enjoyable burrito.

  • Consistency and Texture: 8/10
  • Size: 9/10
  • Meat: 8/10
  • Salsa: 9/10
  • Rice and Other Ingredients: 8/10
  • Total Score: 42/50
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

