Skip to content

It’s March and yet it’s snowing…

March 26, 2013

On this cold and snowy day in March (the end of March – seriously, why is it snowing, it should be warm and sunny and really tempting to avoid study by sitting outside), some of us were in the mood for a burrito for lunch. While we sat in the Mechanical Engineering department computer labs, we discussed where would be worth going to:

We wanted to walk as little as possible, but get the best possible burrito we could. It was decided (pretty quickly and easily, actually) that today should be Tuzo’s Tuesday. So just before 12, we trecked off down Nassau Street and up Dawson Street to get to Tuzo Mexican Kitchen. We left before 12 in the hopes of getting there before the lunch crowd, which worked quite well for us.

I was hungry; very hungry, in fact. So I decided ahead of time that I was getting everything I possibly could in my bundle of goodness. This should explain exactly why my burrito was so packed full of ingredients.

ImageBefore I get into my review of the burrito, I wanted to point something out to everybody who reads this. One of the biggest criticisms that I’ve made about Tuzo’s before is the fact that their ingredients are stored in water and juices, which makes for a sloppy and messy burrito. Well, I noticed today that the staff were ensuring that there were no excessive fluids in their burritos – it looks like they’ve taken my reviews under advisement. I’m actually quite proud of this!

Anyway, I’ll get to the point – my burrito. Inside my burrito, I went for the usual kind of ingredients – rice, pico de gallo, sour cream and cheese. The meat I went for was the barbacoa beef, and I had black beans in my burrito. I had the green chili salsa, and added peppers and guacamole to the mix. It was a magnificently full and round burrito…

The usual student deal in Tuzo’s is €6 for a burrito and a drink. Well, with the two additional ingredients that I had in my burrito (peppers and guacamole), I only paid 80c extra. So, including my drink, I spent €6.80 on a very large burrito. And here’s how it was:

  • The texture was not entirely consistent throughout the burrito – it was moist (but not sloppy or soggy) at first, and for about three quarters of it. It was during the final quarter that the consistency fell apart, as did the burrito – it was a bit of a liquidy, soggy mess, where the liquids had all settled as I ate it. It was not the messiest burrito I’ve ever had, however, just slightly messier than expected. The distribution wasn’t too bad either – the ingredients were layered on top of each other, so biting it in the correct orientation meant a good mix of ingredients in each mouthful. (7/10)
  • I can’t think of a burrito who’s size is more deserving of a perfect score than this one. It was large and well-stuffed with very generous helpings of ingredients – even as I continued to pile more on. For lunch, this was one of the more filling burritos I’ve ever eaten, and I would have been more than satisfied after having this for dinner, too. I am still full after eating this, having finished it two hours ago. (10/10)
  • Barbacoa beef is probably my favourite meat to have in a burrito (except the pulled pork that my mum cooks, but nowhere comes close to that!). While the beef from Tuzo’s today was very tasty – it had a good smokey, barbecue flavour to it – I was a bit disappointed. It was quite tough, and a little bit fatty (not too bad though). The meat was very dense and close-packed – it came out in large chunks, rather than pulling apart easily with each bite. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy it, I just expected better (6/10)
  • As far as salsas go, this was a mighty fine one. There was a good amount of background heat off it, but it was not so spicy as to overpower the other flavours in the burrito. There was a nice green chili flavour from the salsa, but the flavour didn’t last very well. (8/10)
  • My first bite of burrito gave me an opinion on the guacamole; it was tasty, but far too cold – it should have been warmer, so that it blended with the rest of the ingredients a bit better. While it was tasty, the flavour was a bit lacking – some more salt would have brought the guacamole to life. The beans were absolutely perfect – the shells were hard and crispy, while the inside was soft, which is just how I like black beans. The rice was good – the portions have improved, and it wasn’t dry, but there was no notable flavour. I very much enjoyed the peppers, they were very tasty, while the pico de gallo was fine, but just a tad bland. (7/10)

You’ll see, adding up the scores, that Tuzo’s have fared as well this time as they did the last time I visited them – getting a very respectable score of 38/50. They seem to have found a good place to rate, and are maintaining their consistency of score, and certainly offer an enjoyable burrito!

There are two reasons that I did not take another picture of the burrito:

  1. I was enjoying it too much, and didn’t want to stop eating it
  2. My hands were covered in salsa, and I didn’t want to ruin my phone

So all in all, I had a very tasty, very filling lunch from Tuzo’s today, and I’ll be trying somewhere else now tomorrow, being Tiny Donkeys day.

  • Consistency & Texture: 7/10
  • Size: 10/10
  • Meat: 6/10
  • Salsa: 8/10
  • Rice & Other Ingredients: 7/10
  • Total Score: 38/50
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

