Skip to content

Burrito Wednesday

March 27, 2013

I’m writing this up a lot later than I meant to, mostly cos I got delayed coming home from the Tiny Donkeys on the bus…not that there was any real reason for that, I’m just letting you know that I’m not (just) lazy! Maybe the crappy, wet, non-sticky, late-March snow is the reason for my delay…or maybe I’m just bitter about the snow cos it’s not real snow (until it stick) and because it’s not the right time of year for snow.

But anyway, I diverge from the real reason that I logged into my computer; to review yet another burrito. I’ve been back to Pablo’s today, with a larger group than ever before. Being Tiny Donkeys day, Craw and Aidan were with me, as was Craw’s younger sister, and two fellow engineers, who were to join us on the radio, due to our lack of normal hosts…

IMG00079-20130327-1706So my trip to Pablo’s was an interesting one today – I was feeling brave. And we all know what a combination of bravery and Mexican food means; the hottest salsa available. In the case of Pablo’s, that would be the Super Picante salsa… Oh yes, I went for it!

I had the Mexicali Mince burrito, which contains minced beef and chorizo as meats. Aside from these meats, there is rice, black beans and cheese in this burrito. I opted to add some guacamole to the mix, since I’ve been trying the guacamole elsewhere. And like I said, Super Picante salsa…

So let’s get to it! I’m going to talk about the salsa first, since that had the strongest impression on me today:

  • When I took my first bite, my reaction was something along the lines of ‘Sweet Jesus, that is hot…so so hot’, and everybody around the table will vouch for that. The difference in heat between Picante and Super Picante salsas is ridiculous, in terms of heat – this was on a completely different scale of heat. That said, after a few mouthfuls, it became more manageable (but no less hot) – I don’t think I’d fully psychologically prepared myself for the Super Picante! When the time came to leave, a large bottle of chocolate milk was very much needed to quench the fires in my mouth, throat and gut. That said, this was a tasty salsa – there’s some sort of mystery flavour to it, that is incredibly tasty, if you can handle the fire. This is definitely not one for the weak-hearted! (8/10)
  • In terms of consistency, this burrito was fine, but nothing particularly special. The distribution of ingredients was good, except for the guacamole, which I’d imagine was added after mixing the ingredients. My burrito was also somewhat messy – not soggy or sloppy, but it kind of just fell apart as I ate it. I think it was badly wrapped, which is something that I wouldn’t expect from Pablo’s; they’re usually quite good. (7/10)
  • When it comes to the size of burritos, I’ve always said that Pablo’s is better for lunch than dinner, simply because their burritos follow the mantra ‘quality over quantity’, for the most part. And, while this burrito was larger than the last time I dined in Pablo’s, it was still not a large burrito – I was somewhat hungry afterwards.  (7/10)
  • I very much enjoyed the beef in my burrito; this was the meat that there was most of in the burrito. It was tender and tasty, and had a nice herbal flavour to it. I wasn’t even sure that there was chorizo in the burrito until about half-way through, when I noticed a few small little pieces. It would seem that Pablo’s were less than generous with the chorizo. That said, it was incredibly tasty, just the portion wasn’t large. (7/10)
  • I’ll just run quickly through the other ingredients now: the black beans were a tad overcooked, but not too badly so. The guacamole was fantastic – it had the perfect mix of citrus and salt to it. The rice was a bit plain, but the herbs in the beef made up for that, and the cheese melted perfectly when it was toasted. (7/10)

So you’ll see that Pablo’s have done reasonably well with a score of 36/50. They’ve also given me the hottest salsa that I’ve ever had – my stomach still won’t settle, and it’s been nearly four hours since I took my first bite… Well, I guess that’s what I get for trying to be brave, and having the hottest salsa on the menu!

All in all, this is how the Mexicali Mince has faired:

  • Consistency & Texture: 7/10
  • Size: 7/10
  • Meat: 7/10
  • Salsa: 8/10
  • Rice & Other Ingredients: 7/10
  • Total score: 36/50
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

