Skip to content

The end of term is coming

April 2, 2013

I haven’t had a burrito since last Wedesday, mostly because of work and the long weekend. So I decided that today was a day for a burrito, to make up for it. And let’s face it, I’ve been craving a burrito. And with the college term ending this week, and exams beginning in the next month or so, the opportunities for burritos may be diminishing…

It’s been a while since I ventured away from the burrito bars in the exact vicinity of Trinity, so I decided that today would be a good day to walk up to North Earl Street, and to give Saburritos another go. So when I decided that I was hungry and looking for dinner, that’s what I did.

ImageUpon arriving in Saburritos, I realised that I couldn’t remember what ingredients I’d had there before, and what I was yet to try… So I quickly panicked at trying to figure out what I should try, before I realised that it didn’t matter too much, because I was still unlikely to have an identical burrito experience. The one thing that I was certain about, however, was that I’d not yet had the chicken…

And that made my first decision easier; the meat in today’s burrito was to be chicken. I decided on refried beans and Spanish rice to go with that. I went for the salsa verde (green chilli salsa, which is rated three chillis). I got peppers, cheese and lettuce in my burrito too. I decided that I wanted some extras, so I added guacamole and pico de gallo to my burrito – I was pretty hungry, and they looked tasty.

ImageSo I’ll get to business quickly, this time, and let you know exactly what I thought of my burrito:

  • My first bite implied that this burrito was going to be quite good, in terms of consistency. There was a nice crunch of lettuce and peppers, and the burrito was moist but not too sloppy. The ingredients seemed to be reasonably well distributed – in layers around the circumference of the burrito, from the outside in. It’s just a pity that my first impression was not true for the rest of the burrito; it became very messy and sloppy, and completely fell apart about two thirds of the way through. There was a lot of water or juice from the ingredients in it, which seemed to seep through the tortilla, which is probably why it fell apart. (6/10)
  • As soon as I saw my burrito, I knew it was going to be filling. It was large, round and well-packed with some reasonably generous helpings. When I finished it, I was quite full, but having been starving going in, I wasn’t stuffed. About fifteen minutes after finishing, however, I was feeling more and more full, so it was probably a very decent sized burrito for dinner. That said, with the additional ingredients, it was quite expensive… (€8.85, including a can of Coke) (8/10)
  • The chicken was absolutely fantastic! Saburritos have their own secret recipe, which tastes  like it might have some Cajun spices in it, but I’m not quite sure. Either way, that, coupled with the quality pieces of chicken breast, cut into perfect sized pieces, makes for a very enjoyable meal. My description of the chicken just doesn’t do it justice (10/10)
  • Honestly, I was a bit disappointed with the salsa today. It was mild enough, with just a little bit of background heat, a little bit of a green chilli flavour, but really nothing very special. Like I said, quite disappointing… (4/10)
  • The rice was good, there was a nice flavour from it, and the same can be said for the guacamole – although it could have done with some salt and a bit more lime juice. The lettuce was quite good, as was the cheese, although there wasn’t enough of that. The pico de gallo was fine, but a bit bland (nothing outstanding), while the peppers were very disappointing: they were cold and dry, and tasted like they’d been sitting there all day. (6/10)

So you’ll see that this burrito, while being grand, was no better than average. It really had so much more potential, when the chicken is taken into account… A score of 34/50 may not be much worse than the last time I was there, but this burrito could have been so much better.

  • Consistency & Texture: 6/10
  • Size: 8/10
  • Meat: 10/10
  • Salsa: 4/10
  • Rice & Other Ingredients: 6/10
  • Total Score: 34/50
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

